Click here to go to list of artists page.
Click here to go to gig listings.


Born Ruffians are a Canadian indie rock band, originally from the small town of Midland, Ontario, located near Georgian Bay. They are currently signed to Warp Records. The members are Luke LaLonde (guitar/vocals), Mitch Derosier (bass) and Steven Hamelin (drums).

The band moved from Midland to Toronto in 2004. After some local performances and a growing online reputation, the band was signed to the UK electronic music label Warp Records. They released their self-titled debut EP in 2006. It was recorded by Ryan Mills at Little King Studio (now Sleepytown Sound). They have received extensive airplay on CBC Radio 3 with their debut single, "This Sentence Will Ruin/Save Your Life," as well as a cover of Grizzly Bear's single "Knife" which the band recorded live on KEXP. In 2007, they released the single "Hummingbird," which was included on their second album Red, Yellow & Blue.

The band is currently on tour with Franz Ferdinand. Previously they have toured with Caribou, Peter Bjorn and John, Hot Chip, The Hidden Cameras, Tokyo Police Club and The Honorary Title. They toured Canada (mostly Ontario) throughout April 2008, completing the North American leg of their tour on April 26/a>, 2008, with an album release party at Lee's Palace in Toronto. In May and June of 2008, they finished their UK tour and continued touring throughout Europe.

They appeared in the British teen drama Skins, playing "Hummingbird" in a Brooklyn night club. The song is also featured in a television advert in the UK for Orange mobile telecommunications' "Animal" campaign. "Hummingbird" is also featured in a car advertisement in Australia

TThe band was featured in episode seven of the comedic web series, Nirvana the Band the Show, playing as themselves as they rehearse with a new member of the band.

They toured Australia in January and February 2009 as part of St Jerome's Laneway Festival along with Girl Talk, Stereolab, Architecture In Helsinki, The Hold Steady, The Drones, Cut Off Your Hands, Four Tet, Tame Impala, El Guincho, Jay Reatard, Buraka Som Sistema Dj/Mc Set, The Temper Trap, No Age and more.

PITCHFORK - "Even if Red Yellow Blue overstays its welcome for one song, it still counts as one of this new year's most engaging and endearing indie-rock debuts."